Humor the kid

whale and kid

Watercolor. I got a new synthetic brush from Raphael which is supposed to imitate sable and was surprised at how much of a difference it can make. It is obviously not more important than paper and maybe not color either, but it felt much better to paint with.

My girlfriend has always loved whales and has often dreamt about swimming with them. This is my imagination at play, but with her in the back of my head.

I don’t like the way that most non-watercolor whites (colored pencil, gouache, watersoluble crayons, etc.) look when applied over watercolor. They inevitably look dull or muddy. So I try to go traditional for the most part and stick only to watercolors. However, for this I experimented with adding just a touch of white charcoal in some fine detail highlights and it worked well I think.

Leave a Reply

